Home News Travel

Travellers to Singapore to pick up the tab for Covid-19 test and stay home notice

Amala Balakrishner
Amala Balakrishner6/15/2020 09:01 PM GMT+08  • 2 min read
Travellers to Singapore to pick up the tab for Covid-19 test and stay home notice
"Up to now, the costs of tests and SHN facilities have been borne by the Government. But looking ahead, as we reopen for more travel, we will want to move to a more sustainable position,” says Lawrence Wong.
Font Resizer
Share to WhatsappShare to FacebookShare to LinkedInMore Share
Scroll to top
Follow us on Facebook and join our Telegram channel for the latest updates.

SINGAPORE (June 15): Come 23:59 on June 17, Singaporeans returning from selected countries can serve their stay home notices (SHN) at home, instead of at dedicated facilities as is the current practice.

Long-term pass holders may serve their SHN at a place of residence owned or rented by themselves or their family. Otherwise, they can put up at an accommodation facility such as a hotel, at their own cost.

However, Singaporeans and long-term pass holders will still have to undergo a swab test for the coronavirus a few days before their SHN ends. They must also bear the cost of this, unlike the current practice where the government picks up the tab for the test and stay at the dedicated facility, National Development Minister Lawrence Wong said at a Covid-19 multi-ministry taskforce briefing on Monday.

Loading next article...
The Edge Singapore
Download The Edge Singapore App
Google playApple store play
Keep updated
Follow our social media
Subscribe to The Edge Singapore
Get credible investing ideas from our in-depth stock analysis, interviews with key executives, corporate movements coverage and their impact on the market.
© 2022 The Edge Publishing Pte Ltd. All rights reserved.