Continue reading this on our app for a better experience

Open in App
Home News Malaysia

Anwar to be Malaysia’s 10th prime minister

Felicia Tan
Felicia Tan11/24/2022 02:15 PM GMT+08  • 1 min read
Anwar to be Malaysia’s 10th prime minister
Malaysia's new Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim. Photo: Sam Fong/The Edge Markets
Font Resizer
Share to WhatsappShare to FacebookShare to LinkedInMore Share
Scroll to top
Follow us on Facebook and join our Telegram channel for the latest updates.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the chairman of Pakatan Harapan, will be appointed as Malaysia’s 10th prime minister.

The news was confirmed on Nov 24 by the Istana Negara after the 15th Malaysian general election ended up with a hung Parliament.

The decision was made after a conference among Malaysia’s rulers, chaired by the Yang-di Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah.

Throughout his long career, Anwar has held several positions in the Malaysian government, which include being the Education Minister. Anwar was also appointed as the Minister of Finance and became the country's Deputy Prime Minister under then-Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad in the 1990s.

Anwar will be sworn in at 5pm.

Loading next article...
The Edge Singapore
Download The Edge Singapore App
Google playApple store play
Keep updated
Follow our social media
Subscribe to The Edge Singapore
Get credible investing ideas from our in-depth stock analysis, interviews with key executives, corporate movements coverage and their impact on the market.
© 2022 The Edge Publishing Pte Ltd. All rights reserved.