Malaysia will impose yet another round of its Movement Control Order (MCO) in six states – Melaka, Johor, Penang, Selangor, Sabah and the Federal Territories including Kuala Lumpur.

The MCO will last for 14 days beginning from Jan 13 to Jan 26.

The nationwide restrictions, where social activities and gatherings are banned, was announced by Malaysia’s Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin on Jan 11.

“Our health system can no longer afford to take care of 2,000 daily Covid-19 cases, the healthcare system is at a breaking point,” said Muhyiddin in a live address to the nation at 6pm.

Malaysia has been experiencing a spike in cases since September 2020 amid a third wave of infections.

Get the latest Singapore corporate news stories for FREE

A second Malaysian minister, Rina Mohd Harun, the Women, Family and Community Development Minister tested positive for Covid-19 on Jan 11, three days after the first case was found to be positive.

On Jan 9, Mustapa Mohamed, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) tested positive when he arrived in Kota Bharu from Kuala Lumpur.

See: Malaysia declares lockdown as Covid-19 cases jump to highest in Southeast Asia and Singapore and Malaysia talk travel, but say safety still a priority