(Mar 13): The new Malay Muslim-majority ruling coalition — Perikatan Nasional (PN) — was forged on the shifting sands of political turmoil after the break-up of the Pakatan Harapan (PH) government after 22 months in power. In his first televised speech as the eighth prime minister of Malaysia, Muhyiddin Yassin — who led the group that broke ranks with its PH partners — pledged to be prime minister for all Malaysians despite his new coalition being dominated by Malay Muslim political parties.

Have a premium account? Sign in to continue reading.

Unlimited access to all stories from $99.9/year*

The latest reporting and analysis from business and investments to news and views on social issues.


  • Simultaneous logins across all devices
  • Instant access to past digital issues
  • Unlimited access to The Edge Malaysia
  • *For annual subscription plan only. T&Cs apply